Writing, editing and listening for the right tale at the right time…

13th Doctor

Above is my latest wallpaper and inspirational picture. Yeah, if you haven’t noticed, I’m a Doctor who fan from ages back starting with Patrick Troughton’s Doctor. Below, I’m going to put up the beginning of one of my short stories – just to see if I get some interest.
In the mean time, a note on my dragon stories – I don’t write from the usual drivel. I explore all the myths and legends surrounding these universally discussed beasts or beings. It would seem that every culture has a story or something of a great lizard like creature that either roamed the depths or the skies above.
All had some sort of magical properties or powers. Some were even shape shifters of no small ability… ah, but I will cover that in up and coming tales and anthologies – if not books.
Okay, so from Crimson Claw ~

Running. It’s not the most pleasurable of pastimes when one isn’t in any shape to do so.

A forest is the worst place to have to discover how much you’re not in any shape to try, let alone dream, of becoming involved with. And yet, in the midst of a smoke filled, disgustingly hot wooded area, a lone figure that best represented the couch potato crowd went tearing through the under-brush attempting just that.

Marion Arthur Rafael was pretty much a cubicle ground-hog. Anything above a relaxing stroll to the library or over to the pizza parlour he loved to patronise with his fellow computer analysts was usually too much to even dream about! It wasn’t until the annual physical that Marion was shocked in to the need for more vigorous exercise. When the company offered a camping and hiking retreat to Germany; It was an offer too good to refuse. There was even a chance to meet up with one of his online gaming friends.

So, he came on this camping trip to the great Black Forest in Germany to relax and improve his fitness level – not to die a horrible death at the hands of an unseen presence. Well, to be honest, he and the others didn’t need to see it; They saw the destruction it wrought after their guide accidentally or on purpose took a giant egg shaped object from a very large, and newly found, cave. Thus the mad dash to be anywhere a flame throwing and earth shaking thing isn’t!

Anyway, my sense of humour coming to the fore at the beginning of a tale… hope you enjoy and maybe go out and get the Ebook copy to enjoy –
Scales and Hearts is on Nook and Kobo  ~ * bow * ~

See previous blogs for links…

Okay, on to editing. I was trained from Primary school onward to tertiary school that I had to be able to dissect my own work as easily and as cleanly as I could someone else’s.
This was very important to my grammar and literature instructors/professors! Yes, you put your heart and soul, as you should, into every labour or laudable undertaking. However, if you truly love it – you’ll be more than prepared to take a deep breath and carefully read and work on your work. I’ve seen some of what some main stream editors call their best and am quite appalled! Ah, who knows? Someone may catch on… or not.
I just know that in exercising my education, I recall rules of writing and grammar much easier as to avoid future blunders.
That’s my take on editing. Period.

As always, tell the story as your heart dictates, write what you know with as much excitement and energy as you put in your first endeavour. Never sweat the details as it will be your downfall – worrying so over minor things. Always tell the tale as it comes to you – not as some cookie cutter type dictates! It’s your story that you were privy to see/hear in your mind and your pleasure to relate to the reading public.
Don’t be a carbon copy!

~ Cheers and ALLONS – Y!

~ The Pirate Poet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment