Perspective ~

So, another year comes to a close. I managed to begin the second series of Camden’s Follies and embark on the tedious job of raising funds for my next cover.

Here’s the first book of the second series ~

https://www.amazon.com/Camdens-Follies-Mr-Nathanial-Corres/dp/B092L6KWDN/ref=sr_1_5?keywords=camden%27s+follies&qid=1640108640&s=books&sr=1-5

As we near the last holiday, time to reflect

To Quote Coldplay ” How in the world am I supposed to see, you as my brother not my enemy? ”
In this day and age of heightened sensetivity, it’s truly more difficult to speak with anyone without somehow annoying or insulting them with statement or query that was just fine yesterday.
If it’s not American, your opinion is meningless. You can’t make a clean statement without being called some new variation on an old insult.
I wonder when it will dawn on anyone, that changing pronouns or altering language in mid stream causes more harm than good? That, a victory where you’re the only one standing in a field of the dead doesn’t make you special, but a lonely fool too self absorbed to see how much the monster you became, the one that you feared the most?
Yes, I’m old. To some, that means obsolete. It means someone to blame, disparage and be merciless to. Our wisdom, knowledge or experience is meaningless to them and their technology superior.
Me, I’m the one outside the maddening crowd. I stand amongst, but never part of. Easily ignored, I tend to find myself more distant as time goes on. Also, I must note that, there is no distance greater than the chasms of the heart and mind.
The days arew always a little colder. I’m more a number now than ever. An outsider even to outsiders. At home, I’m a face in the crowd, polite and me. In America, I’m a lesser for my dark skin and the idea I’m not dark enough, if that makes sense. Even before I was born, I was designated an outcast.
In America, I could and have been the most reasonable and intelligent person in the room, but yet, as a product of a mixed union a lesser and an idiot.
That was and is my reality that I exist in as, no matter the decade or generation by quarter century, things have changed little.
I truly wonder some times, what it would be like to find unconditional love …
But alas, as another year drags itself forward I find myself moving forward with little purpose than to write and see…

Till the next we meet, on more happier circumstances I hope,

~ The Pirate Poet

Leave a comment